Super Bowl Sunday & Week Recap

Super Bowl Sunday is a day to spend with friends watching the football game (or for me the commercials/half time) and eating/drinking unmentionable things.

 

That is precisely how I spent my sunday this year… not.

I spent it all alone and it was marvelous. It was quite an intense week, so it was awesome to get some time to myself to relax.

This past week I worked out 8 times and even had one full day to rest! I can not remember the last time I did that. I am sore in the best possible way. It shows me that my hard work did something. I will see results.. not today or necessarily tomorrow, but my efforts compounded over time will.

That is one of the most difficult things to wrap our heads around in todays world. We want everything instant and while many things are programmed that way today our bodies simply are not. 

I did a whole multitude of different things ranging from hot yoga to running to regular yoga to crossfit. Also a fun highlight was some interval training I did with my coworkers and a contestant from last years Biggest loser, Kim Nielson. Image

But back to Sunday..

Have any of you ever gotten a deep tissue massage? They are wonderful! Although they can be painful at times it is so worth the results in the end. 

After that the rest of the day was spent at the market (boy was I wrong for thinking it might be slow due to the game.. I have never seen it more busy!) and preparing meals for the week.

Here are some of the goodies I foundImageImageImageImageImageImage

While I was prepping everything for the week I got a huge urge for some cocktails. (non-alcoholic mind you since I haven’t been doing well with it lately) 

To the left is my take on a bloody mary:

Juice

3 tomatoes

2 stalks of celery

2 cucumbers 

1 lemon (rhine removed)

Handful of basil

Than stir in pepper and hot sauce to taste! 

I have never had a bloody mary but was really craving that taste so this is what came out of it.

To the right is a shot of strawberry

Juice

6-7 strawberries with leaves

These were absolutely delicious and just what my body was craving until later that night I needed just an extra something and whipped this up.

Image

Slice an apple thinly and alternate layering almond butter, and chocolate pudding (I happened to make some of this while I was doing meal prep for the week), add a dash of cinnamon to the top and voilà! A tasty and nutritious treat in minutes:D 

Needless to say this week has been a bit of a hodgepodge of things very much like this post. 

I will say it kept things interesting and my attention engages which is all I can ever hope for in my quest to be a better, healthier me! 

Time for some hot yoga gotta run,

S

Leave a Reply

