Do One Thing a Day That Scares You

As the quote goes by the lovely Eleanor Roosevelt, “Do one thing a day that scares you.”

When was the last time you followed this?

ImageWell for me it was this morning at 8am. Bikram Yoga. I had bought a Groupon for 20 classes, thinking I was going to be head over heels for it and be this rock star yogi person. Well I went to my first class back in August and never returned. Truthfully I just think I was not mentally ready for it.

For all of you not familiar to Bikram, its quite different from regular yoga. For one you are performing a sequence of 26 postures in a 105°F room for 90 minutes. Did I forget to mention there is also 40% humidity? So needless to say after my first class I was not hit with the urge to go back instantly the next day. Then as it usually happens life got in the way, and before I knew it, it was now 2014 and my classes were about to expire. I have gone from doing Bikram once every 6 months to now everyday for the next two weeks. I do have to admit something though… I love it! Months ago when I went, I thought I needed a friend to go with me. (So at least I knew there was another crazy person out there willing to go into the heat!) However, now that I was faced with the challenge to use up all my classes in time, I had to go alone. Now I am not one that needs a friend to go to the grocery store or leave my house in general, but for Bikram I definitely felt I needed that extra Imagesupport.

With that in mind I would like to ask you a question. Where are you feeling supported in your life and where are you not? If you are not feeling supported in an area that you would like, how can you change this?

For me Bikram was one of those things. While I would have loved support on it, it was really something I needed to do on my own. I now look forward to the heat. It is my hour and a half to let my mind go and simply just be in the present. It is an amazing mental and physical exercise that leaves my mind at ease and my muscles and joints feeling great! I tend to have really inflamed joints from old sports injuries (although I am rethinking that these days and attribute 90% to my diet over the years. Specifically gluten.) and the heat and deep stretching has really helped them so far! I leave there drenched in sweat, feelings of accomplishment and most importantly revived and able to tackle whatever the day throws at me.

In the comments below, share something you would love to accomplish in the next week that may be ever so slightly outside your comfort zone. It is amazing the possibilities that arrive when you simply open up the door and invite them in.

Image

The week is young, go out and conquer it!

-S

Leave a Reply

